Going Off the Deep End

July 14, 2014 — 2 Comments

Going whole hog, go big or stay home, jump in with both feet – there are dozens of idioms to describe what I did on July 2.  I tweeted…

I have to add a little disclaimer here.  Though my Twitter profile will tell you that I joined in 2009, it’s all lies.  Yes, I created my account in 2009, but I really didn’t start using it until May, when I started grad school and my ED554 professor made me.   (Clearly, I am hooked now!) I didn’t think anything of that innocent little tweet.  I think edshelf is amazing.  I fell in love with it back in May, when I found it through te@chthought and then I blogged about it.   You can check that out here.  As a pre-service teacher, wading through the sea of edtech available is a daunting task, and edshelf is like having a bunch of educators hold my hand while I do.  Really I just wanted edshelf and Mike Lee to know that I was really saddened by the news. But what happened next was something I never imagined.  First, I saw myself mentioned in this tweet:

So naturally, I went to read the blog post.  It’s the most bizarre and ultimate form of voyeurism, checking yourself out online, but I had to do it.  This is important to me.  You see, William is an EdTech salesman and project manager who realizes the sales process has changed and that word of mouth recommendation and peer review is the future of effective roll out, especially to educators. Needless to say, he is also an edshelf fan, as well as EdSurge and feels these alternative methods of rollout are the future of EdTech sales.  Check out his blog post about it.

But I digress.  Since William’s post, he and I have connected and been discussing how best to reach out and engage people to support Mike and edshelf.

Of course I retweeted William’s blog post.  Why wouldn’t I?  Well, here’s why.  I had no idea that it was all about to go through the roof!  People started tweeting with the hashtag.  Then people started following me, and not just any people, they are edu-royalty – as in REALLY connected educators.  And then I started to panic because I don’t have a clue what I am doing with Twitter.  (Remember that disclaimer about my twitter naiveté?)  Some of these people have tens of thousands of followers.  That definitely creates the need to stop and think before I tweet.

That’s where you enter one Susan Bearden and her absolutely fabulous app TweechMe.  The app has several Twitter-length videos teaching you how to use Twitter (which is where I have been spending my time!).  But there is also a searchable calendar for Twitter chats AND (and I am totally signing up!) a section where you can get a Twitter Mentor – and all of the mentors are geared towards educators – AWESOME!  Definitely check it out if you are struggling with the world of one-liners.

So, what’s happening now?  Well, I am getting more confident with Twitter, that is for sure.  But more importantly, we are seeing results.  Just the other day I was able to tweet this:

Which is great news.  Because yesterday, Eric Sheninger, a prominent educator, blogger, and digital leader, posted about edshelf and the campaign to save it.  I can’t thank him enough for his support in this.

I can’t wait to see what analytics look like this week.  Because the ultimate goal here is to save a phenomenal resource.  edshelf is for educators and the reviews are by educators – people who have actually used these products and tools and can tell you how they work in the classroom.  But to save this resource, we, as educators, have to make some noise and draw some attention.

It’s simple and it’s free and won’t even take a lot of your time.  So, please, visit edshelf.  Create an account, make some collections, write a review and tweet #SaveEdShelf – A LOT.

 

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. #SaveEdShelf is Getting a Kickstart « alicialeonardblog - August 5, 2014

    […] as my tweet so gushingly requested. That started a whole new world for me and couple weeks ago, I posted about my resultant Twitter journey from neophyte to drowning as a result of that […]

    Like

  2. HELP Save edshelf - Teachers With Apps - August 18, 2014

    […] Going Off The Deep End by Alicia Leonard […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

